Research · published 2026-08-11 · data collected 2026-08-11

What a Colorado HOA status letter actually costs

When a Colorado home inside an HOA sells, the association must furnish a written statement of unpaid assessments within 14 calendar days — and if it doesn't, it forfeits its lien for everything owed (C.R.S. §38-33.3-316(8)). The statute says nothing about what the document may cost. So we read the published fee pages of every Colorado HOA management company in our registry and 128 self-managed associations — 281 organisations — to find out. The answer is free to $650, and almost nobody will tell you in advance.

1. Only 21 of 281 will tell you the price

That is 7%. On the management-company side, 10 of 153 publish a status-letter fee; 43 route ordering to a third-party portal that quotes nothing until you are inside it with a property address and an account; and 100 publish nothing at all. Among self-managed associations the rate is barely different: 11 of 113.

This is not a story about hidden prices so much as unassembled ones. There is no state registry of these fees, no regulator category that collects them, and no vendor that discloses them. A seller finds out what their status letter costs after they are already under contract.

2. The same statutory document runs free to $650

Where a price is published at all, management companies charge a median of $145 and self-managed associations $100. The cheapest letter in Colorado comes from a volunteer board; the most expensive comes from a management company. Every figure below was read on the organisation's own page.

Every published status-letter fee we found — management companies
FeeCompanyAssociationsStated turnaround
$35.00 (Signed Letter on Letterhead, Regular Speed) / $55.00 (Fast Speed) HM Property Management 51 Most orders are processed within five days by email unless specified in detailed description.
$50 Silver Mountain Properties Inc 19
$50.00 Mile High Management Associates 4 24 hr. turnaround (rush option stated); standard turnaround not specified
$75 (Status Request) SummitCove Property Management 19 normal completion time is 3-5 business days
$120.00 (Regular Service, 5 business days) HOA Simple, LLC 14 Regular Service: 5 business days; Expedited Service: 3 business days
$170 Reliance Management LLC 9
$200.00 Cololrado Management & Realty Inc 22
$250 (standard, 5 business days) Executive Management Group 31 5 business days standard; 1-2 business days rush
$300 per status letter Homestead Management Corporation 92
$350 -$650 Standard Novele Community Management Inc 12
Every published status-letter fee we found — self-managed associations
FeeAssociationHomesWho prepares it
free Gunbarrel Green Homeowners Association, Inc. 306
free Falls Creek Ranch Association, Inc. 100
$10 Colorado Mountain Estates Property Owners Association, Inc. 1,490
$25 Glen-Vista Property Owners Association 1,158
$100 Settlers Village Homeowners Association 755
$100 Windsong Master Property Owners Association 315
$100 St Andrews Home Owner Association 163
$100.00 Mountain Valley Homeowners Association 121
$100.00 Cherry Creek Springs Homeowners Association, Inc. 115
$150 (2+ weeks notice) / $200 (1 week or less notice) Homestead At Jackson Creek Homeowners Association 218 secretary
$200 Ken-Caryl Ranch Master Association 4,685 association administration/staff
$200 Comstock Village Homeowners Association 595 board
$200 River Valley Ranch Master Association 554
see note below Sand Creek Park Landowners Association 410 board or managing agent

Sand Creek Park Landowners Association: Statutory statement of unpaid assessments is furnished at no charge; a fuller status letter for a title or mortgage company is charged back at cost, amount not stated.

Rush pricing, where it exists, is steep. Ken-Caryl Ranch charges $200 for a status letter and $400 more to produce it in 48 hours — the rush costs twice the document. Homestead at Jackson Creek prices the calendar directly: $150 with two weeks' notice, $200 with one week or less.

3. 3,288 associations sit behind a portal that won't quote you

The largest management companies don't sell the document themselves — they route it to a third-party portal. 64% of the associations we surveyed (3,288 of 5,131) order through one, against 831 under a company that posts a price.

Who controls the transaction, by associations served
PortalAssociationsManagement companies
HomeWiseDocs1,75823
CondoCerts8639
MVI Solutions3801
Community Archives1481
CINC422
ReadyResale342

On these platforms the price is disclosed at checkout, not before, and platform surcharges stack on top of whatever the association charges. We could not verify several portals' published terms directly — condocerts.com and communityarchives.com refuse automated access — so this report makes no claim about their specific surcharge amounts. What we can say is structural, and it is measured from our own crawl: for most Colorado homeowners, the cost of this document is set somewhere they cannot see.

4. Colorado's most expensive letter costs more than any other state allows

Of the 11 peer states we checked, 9 cap this fee by statute. California and Minnesota do not — but both still impose a standard, California requiring the fee to reflect actual cost and be itemised in writing before it is charged. Colorado's §316(8) does not even use the word "reasonable". It is silent on price entirely.

The $650 status letter we found in Colorado is more than the legal maximum in every one of those 9 states — 63% above Arizona's $400 ceiling, and Arizona's is an aggregate cap covering every transfer-related charge combined.

What the same document may cost elsewhere
StateStatutory capDeadlineCitation
Virginia $150 14 calendar days Va. Code 55.1-1810
Nevada $185 (indexed) 10 calendar days NRS 116.4109
North Carolina $200 10 business days N.C. Gen. Stat. 47F-3-118(b)
Maryland $250 (indexed) 20 calendar days Md. Real Prop. 11B-106(c)
Washington $275 10 calendar days RCW 64.90.640
Florida $299 (indexed) 10 business days Fla. Stat. 720.30851
Texas $375 10 business days Tex. Prop. Code 207.003(c)
Illinois $375 (indexed) 10 business days 765 ILCS 605/22.1
Arizona $400 10 calendar days A.R.S. 33-1806(C)
California no dollar cap 10 calendar days Cal. Civ. Code 4530
Minnesota no dollar cap 10 calendar days Minn. Stat. 515B.4-107
Colorado none 14 calendar days C.R.S. 38-33.3-316(8)

Colorado is not fast either: 9 of the 11 states require a quicker turnaround than our 14 days.

Florida capped its fee after its own Senate analysts identified exactly Colorado's problem — an undefined fee standard producing wide variance:

Neither the Legislature nor the courts have provided guidance on what constitutes a reasonable fee for an estoppel certificate. This has caused variations in the fee charged by associations for the preparation of an estoppel certificate.

— Florida Senate Bill Analysis and Fiscal Impact Statement, SB 398, Committee on Regulated Industries, 2017-02-21

No Colorado bill has ever proposed capping this fee. We checked HB22-1137, HB24-1233, HB24-1337, HB24-1383, HB25-1043, SB22-060, SB24-134 against their own text. The legislature has capped other things — attorney fees in a delinquency matter, capped at $5,000 or 50% of the amount owed, whichever is less (HB24-1337); certified-mail charges, capped at actual cost (HB24-1233); increases to common-element use fees, capped at 10% a year without a member vote (SB22-060). The status letter has never come up.

5. Not one self-managed association mentions the deadline that costs it the lien

We checked every one of the 128 self-managed associations' sites for any mention of the 14-day deadline or C.R.S. §38-33.3-316. 0 of 128 mention it.

This is the finding with the most money attached, and it points the opposite way from the fee debate. If a board misses the deadline the association loses its lien for everything owed as of the request date — a far larger sum than any status-letter fee. One association's collection policy cites CCIOA by subsection elsewhere in the same document and still never reaches §316(8). These boards are not careless; the provision that costs them most simply isn't in the material anyone puts in front of them.

Colorado's own regulator has the other half of it. DORA's HOA Information and Resource Center reports that brokers and title companies have trouble obtaining these documents at all, even after sellers properly request them. The Center tracks 24 complaint categories. None of them is what the document costs.

How we did this, and what it doesn't show

Every Colorado HOA management company in our roster with a known website was fetched directly and read for a published status-letter, resale-package or transfer fee. Only prices printed on the company's own site are recorded, each with the page URL and the sentence it came from. Companies that route ordering to a third-party portal are recorded as such — that is a finding, not a gap. Nothing here is inferred, estimated, or averaged from another source.

Who counts as self-managed. Colorado associations declare this themselves on their DORA registration, and 15 of the 128 we sampled filed as self-managed while naming a genuine management company on the same form. Their fees are excluded from the self-managed figures above — one of them, at $250, had been the top of that range. Naming an attorney or a bookkeeper does not count as a contradiction and those associations stay in: across the whole registry the named entity is a law firm on 160 self-managed filings, which is perfectly consistent with a board running its own affairs.

The limits, plainly. 21 published prices is a small sample to describe a market, and we do not present the range as a market rate — the defensible finding is the one with 281 behind it: that almost nobody publishes. Prices behind portal logins are not in this data, and they are the majority of the market, so the true spread is likely wider than what we can show. Several sites refused automated access; those are recorded as unread rather than as absent. Where a crawler proposed a figure it could not source to the organisation's own page, we dropped it.

Found a fee here that's wrong or out of date, or publish one we missed? Tell us and we'll fix it — corrections are logged with the date and the source.

If you're the one paying it

  • Sellers: ask for the fee in writing when the letter is ordered, not at closing. There is no cap, so the number is whatever the association's adopted schedule says.
  • Boards: adopt a written fee — even a zero one — and diary the 14-day clock. The letter builder computes the due date and produces the certification title companies expect.
  • Title companies: every self-managed association's registered agent and mailing address is in the directory, straight from the state roster — including the ones no portal covers.